summer #2- tuscany

Over the past two years I have spent a large proportion of my time in a small, smelly room in the music department known as ‘MU3’. Filled with an interesting mixture of people, we’ve spent way too much time cooped up together and somehow, (despite everything!) I now count them as some of my closest friends. With half of us leaving come September, it seemed fitting to end the school year with a music and dance tour to Tuscany.

Although we were technically away for a week, I’d forgotten the amount of time we would spend travelling, so unfortunately, it ended up as four days in Tuscany and three sat awkwardly on a coach. Despite sitting for a solid 31 hours, the journey could’ve been worse and was helped along by the beautiful scenery through Switzerland. Little mention also goes to Radiohead’s ‘King of Limbs’ which was perfect to fall asleep to- in the best way possible!

somewhere in Switzerland part 2
somewhere in Switzerland part 1
somewhere in Switzerland part 1
somewhere in Switzerland part 2

Despite packing for a typical Italian summer and leaving my raincoat at home, it was as though we had brought the English weather with us so whilst there was a thunder storm in Tuscany, Dorset experienced a heatwave- bloody typical. Fortunately, the weather cleared up for our first concert in Passignano which was lovely and ended with me making friends with a little Italian granny.

rain rain rain
MU3 lot
MU3 lot

The next day ended with another concert in a beautiful little town called Pienza. Before we played, we went for a walk and discovered the most beautiful view across the countryside. The concert itself was probably one of the highlights of the entire trip. Everything was perfect- weather, acoustics, audience, setting!

473
Pienza

K & B

setting up for the concert
setting up for the concert

Although we only had a few hours to explore Florence before the evening concert, I fell in love with the city so I am so excited to return in a few weeks when a group of us are interrailing around Europe! Finally the sun was out so, obviously, I got more ice cream. The third and final concert was held in a small church in the centre of the city so there were a few changes to our repertoire; apparently it’s not acceptable to sing ‘mi ficcar tutta notte, urtar come monton’ (translation- ‘I’ll make love to you all night long, thrusting like a ram’) in a church..

Ponte Vecchio
Ponte Vecchio

 Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore
Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore

Although I never want to step foot on a coach again, the past week has been great and it’s very strange to be sat by myself after constantly being surrounded by so many people. I have however, been tucking into my latest Italian discovery- Pan di Stelle biscuits which are absolutely delicious and I can’t seem to stop. Will definitely be restocking when I’m back.

Betty x

Any comments, queries or criticisms?

